Family and Consumer Sciences

Please note Preschool and PUPS Registration is now open. 

Philosophy:

Family and Consumer Sciences is a field of knowledge and service concerned with preparing people for independence, family, employment, and life by applying knowledge from a variety of educational disciplines.  Courses in this department are designed to develop the total well being of the students, empowering them to become a healthy, well adjusted, self-confident, productive individual, family member, and employee.

In order to enhance individuals and their families, Family and Consumer Sciences programs are supplemented and revised to meet societal changes.  All students should be equipped with the life skills necessary to improve the quality of the physical, psychological, and social aspects of life for themselves and others.

Family and Consumer Sciences courses can prepare students for careers including, but not limited to, Child Care and Development, Early Childhood Education, Housing and Home Furnishings, Food Service and Hospitality, Nutrition, Health Related Occupations, Social Work, Fashion Construction and Merchandising, and Personal and Family Finance.  Thinking creatively, making decisions, relating to and communicating with others, and utilizing scientific research and technology are necessary for individuals and workers in an ever-changing global society.  Knowledge and skills from Family and Consumer Sciences are needed for today and in the future in order to lead a balanced life.

PHONE:

(630) 860-4935

MEMBERS:

Kristin Bigalke - bigalke@fenton100.org

Megan Edwards- edwards@fenton100.org

Kristina Essenberg - essenberg@fenton100.org

Angela Nelson,  Chairperson - nelsona@fenton100.org

Ginny Oelslager - oelslager@fenton100.org

Julie Weidner - weidner@fenton100.org